SenorTuna.com

Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   SenorTuna.com > Tackle Forum
Home Page Forums Image Gallery

Notices

Old 11-13-2016, 08:15 PM
Strong, Silent Type

Default 2 poles remain! opinions needed

So I bought a new Avet mx for jigging flat falls to tuna and am looking for the rod to go with it...... I have narrowed it down to a shimano travala or a Penn carnage II... my problem is I live in Montana and cant actually hold the rod and see how they feel. I have a bunch of Penn rods that I have been using for 10+ years with no problems... but I hear a lot of good things about the shimanos. saw an old post of people using the Penn on a sponsored bot trip and liked it... any info would be awesome!
Old 11-14-2016, 03:54 AM
Procrastinate Now!

What line weight would you be using?

I haven't been super impressed with either Shimano or Penn rods. They work well enough, but they seem more like line extensions/afterthoughts for the reel companies. The Shimanos also seemed pricey for what you get, at least partially designed to be part of a "system" (like the butterfly) designed to sell you stuff as much as to catch fish. But I have heard a lot of people say they like Shimano rods.

Living in Missoula, I could see the problem of trying out rods from United Composite, Seeker, Phenix, etc. Is the rod something you can pick up before your next fishing trip, or are you planning on being in SoCal before the next trip? The ideal would be to visit LA/Long Beach in the first week of March and go to the Fred Hall Show, where pretty much every manufacturer displays its wares and you can pull on rods and blanks to your heart's content (not just saltwater, but freshwater gear too, and some hunting stuff also). Good luck.
Old 11-14-2016, 01:35 PM
Deprived

I like the old penn 700m I use it with JX and MX
Old 11-14-2016, 04:43 PM
Strong, Silent Type